Nature vs Nurture

Yesterday, I started to work out timeline pieces. The more I tried to make the pieces fit together the worse it got. I grew frustrated, and quickly. Something just wasn’t right within my DeWinter world. I pulled up Scrivener to figure it out. 

The Aeon timelines, and Scrivener work wonders together. When one doesn’t line up right I have the other to refer to. 

So as I’m going through Scrivener I realize I have all my characters in place, but they are all blank sheets. There is no history, and without history, there is no future. 

What do I mean by this when it comes to writing? Easy, look at the world around you, the people that exist within it. The exact same situation can be presented to two different people, and there is a good chance they will react differently to it. 

This is due to the differences in nature and/or nurture. 

Nature has everything to due with your innatism, and nurture is behaviorism. They are not sole contributors as it is a vast science, and we are still learning about them. 

For the purpose of this blog though, that is enough information. So, back to what I was saying. While plotting or even writing you need to ask yourself this question a lot. Why? Why does this character do this? Why does he go here?

If you cannot answer the question, or if your answer doesn’t make sense reevaluate your character, and the situation. Sometimes we try to force our characters to do things that would go against their personality. Now I’m not saying they take on their own life and balk against it. I’m saying we as the authors know that isn’t something they would do. It’s not in their nature. 

I applied this to my plotting. My original beginning to the story while being a great grabber for the reader didn’t gel with what was in my head, so I evaluated the character. My answers were massive, and in turn will alter the entire beginning of the book, but it all led me back to one thing…

Plot your characters, plot them well. Give them history, personality, and know their tiny quirks. The way they were raised will define their reactions to things later in the book, the way that they talk, and even relationships. 

Where does that leave me in my work load for the day? Rewriting DeWinter history, and developing great characters. I’ve got my hands full, but it’s a great adventure.

Just remember when you settle in to do your own writing even heroes need their flaws, and villains need their strengths. It creates well rounded, and relateable characters.

Always apply the 5 W’s: Who? What? Where? When? Why? And stay true to your characters nature unless you’re prepared to explain how such a vast change can occur.

Now, time to get to work. 

Dream on, and dream big.

Leave a Reply

